CLIENT LOGIN | Member Services OR EMPLOYEE LOGIN | Self Service

State Minimum Wages


NOTE: Thirty-eight states and the District of Columbia have state minimum wages rates higher than the federal minimum wage. If your state’s minimum wage rate differs from the federal rate, then the employer must pay the higher of the two rates for a domestic worker’s minimum wage.

Nannies, housekeepers, and most senior caregivers are covered by minimum wage legislation. They must be paid for every hour of work at no less than the applicable minimum wage, and hours over 40 in a week may require compensation at no less than 1.5 times the minimum wage. Read on for a list of minimum wage rates by state.

 

FEDERAL minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.

 

» Related Article: FLSA Overtime Rules for Household Employees

State

Minimum Wage Rate per Hour
2019

Scheduled Increases and/or Variances

Alabama

$7.25

Alaska

$9.89

Annual increases indexed to inflation.

Arizona

$11.00

$12.00 1/1/2020

Arkansas

$7.25

$9.25 if the household has 4 or more employees.

California

$11.00

$11.00 1/1/2019 (less than 25 employees)
Live-in and Live-out household employees are subject to overtime.
Certain municipalities have enacted higher minimum wages – MORE

Colorado

$11.10

Connecticut

$10.10

Delaware

$7.25

Domestic employment is excluded from the Delaware Minimum Wage Act (http://delcode.delaware.gov/title19/c009/)

District of Columbia

$13.25

$14.00 Effective July 1, 2019

Florida

$8.46

Annual increases indexed to inflation.

Georgia

$7.25

Hawaii

$10.10

Idaho

$7.25

Illinois

$8.25

 City of Chicago $12.00 July 2018, $13.00 July 2019; Cook County (outside Chicago) $11

Indiana

$7.25

Iowa

$7.25

 Johnson County $8.20

Kansas

$7.25

Kentucky

$7.25

 Louisville: $9.00 July 2017

Louisiana

$7.25

Maine

$11.00

Portland will be reindexed 7/1/2019

Maryland

$10.10

Live-in domestic employees must be paid the overtime differential (1.5 times hourly rate) for hours worked over 40 in a week.

Montgomery County and Prince Georges Counties separately establish minimum wage in their jurisdictions for employers with more than one employee.

Massachusetts

$12.00

 $12.00 1/1/2019, $12.75 1/1/2020. $16.50 per hour for working on a Sunday

Michigan

$9.25

$9.45 4/1/2019

Minnesota

$8.04

Annual increases indexed to inflation.
Small Employers.
Live-in domestic employees must be paid the overtime differential (1.5 times hourly rate) for hours worked over 48 in a week.Minneapolis Small Employers: $10.25

Mississippi

$7.25

Missouri

$8.60

Montana

$8.50

Annual increases indexed to inflation.

Nebraska

$9.00

Nevada

$8.25

No employer paid health insurance provided, $7.25 if employer provides health insurance.
Overtime based on hours over 8 in a day!

New Hampshire

$7.25

New Jersey

$8.85

Annual increases indexed to inflation.
Live-in domestic employees must be paid the overtime differential (1.5 times hourly rate) for hours worked over 40 in a week.

New Mexico

$8.20

Effective 4 Apr 2019 domestic service workers in NM are covered by state minimum wage. Albuquerque $8.75; $7.75 with healthcare; Santa Fe $10.84

New York

Free Download:
NY Domestic Workers’
Bill of Rights

$11.10

New York City $13.50; Long Island & Westchester $12.00

Live-in domestic employees must be paid the greater of the overtime differential (1.5 times NYS hourly minimum wage) or the regular hourly wage for hours worked over 44 in a week. See NYS DOL for the law.

North Carolina

$7.25

North Dakota

$7.25

Ohio

$8.55

Annual increases indexed to inflation.

Oklahoma

$7.25

Oregon

$7.25

Domestic service workers primarily engaged in child care or companionship care are covered by Federal ($7.25), not Oregon, minimum wage.

Live-in domestic employees must be paid the overtime differential (1.5 times hourly rate) for hours worked over 44 in a week.

General household workers not primarily engaged in care giving services $11.25 7/1/2019; in Portland Metro: $12.50 7/1/2019

Pennsylvania

$7.25

10 or fewer workers: $7.25 7/24/2009

Rhode Island

$10.50

South Carolina

$7.25

South Dakota

$9.10

Adjusted to an inflation index every Jan. 1.

Tennessee

$7.25

Texas

$7.25

Utah

$7.25

Vermont

$10.78

Annual increases indexed to inflation.

Virginia

$7.25

Washington

$12.00

Seattle $14.00; Tacoma $12.00

West Virginia

$8.75

Wisconsin

$7.25

Wyoming

$7.25

 

Last updated: December 2018

The » US Department of Labor Link as of December 1, 2018. US DOL publishes current rates at their website but they frequently move the page! If you find this link has moved, please let us know! » E-Mail HomeWork Solutions Inc.

 

FREE Updates & Tools

FREE Updates & Tools

Sign up with HomeWork Solutions today for valuable resources only available to our subscribers.

  • Receive industry related news and updates though our blog.
  • Access our FREE payroll tax calculators.
  • Access special offers & downloads.

I understand that I am registering for access to HWS. I grant HWS permission to contact me via email regarding household payroll and tax services they offer.

All fields are required.